Growing Up With OCS- My Story


Growing Up With OCS- My Story

I have been awfully scarce of late, but due to time constantly fleeting in the onward direction at a pace that is almost triple that of my own, I have found it to be a rather challenging last two months. But as they say “Onward & Upward” and on to the next.

I was having a Whatsapp conversation with a friend of mine in California. As you can imagine, being in South Africa my body clock is not accustomed to Cali’s ungodly hours and so it makes having a long distance conversation even more tricky. I entertain the conversation because this friend of mine is in dire need of uplift and so I manage to juggle the seriousness of the topic with trying to get my daily errands done and of course “work”.

Angie who still teases me about my second name being John. Self appointed by my 6-year-old self

Now I’m not publicizing that my  friend is a nutcase, just that it’s made things all that more complicated because the girl she’s been having an altercation with is my sister. Not blood related but might as well be considering I’ve known her for a long period of time and what she means to me. The issue is that a friend to all is a friend to none and I am a firm believer in loyalty. I know where my friendship lies with my sister and what it means to the both of us. Now my friend in Cali, whom I’ve never had the pleasure of ACTUALLY meeting has become a really good ‘Whatsapp Mate’ and I enjoy our conversations but at the same time I know her transgressions even though she plays her cards close to her heart.

“Let’s All Play Nicely” as my mum would say. I’m an only child and I suppose my mum always felt compelled to tell me that when I was being a bit of a snotty toddler with OCS (Only Child Syndrome). For those brats you see at your child’s birthday party, family functions or social gatherings that throw an absolute haffy attack, cry blue murder and are forever demanding little demons. Well… I must have been the exception when growing up because I was ONLY HALF of the struggle. I was a social kid surprisingly enough. My mum kept me in top form but it wasn’t until I got to Primary School at Sharonlea in the Northern Suburbs of Johannesburg that I began to really shut down. To this day I refuse to look at it as “Bullying” because not getting my way shaped me and allowed me to grow. I was able to find out who I was and what my limitations were when dealing with prissy little girls with blonde hair, blue eyes and most of whom got pregnant before they turned twenty.

I was that underdog who got on with everyone, not a teacher’s pet and witty. Witt, guess that’s the one thing I can give my pops credit for besides my olive skin.

Moral of the story? A friend to all is a friend to none. If there’s one thing that OCS gave me, it’s that I learned that NOT having siblings worked to my benefit. I may not have ever had the privilege of knowing what it’s like to have a brother to look out for me or a sister to guide me but I’m all the more stranger and independent for it. The two friends that I thought would be the least influential in my life turned out to be the best mates I could have ever asked for. They’re not just my friends, they’ve become my sisters. I was an only child by design. And I’m all the better for it today.

So thank you. Those sluts, slags, slappers and chavs who never saw passed the tip of their nose because they were either too short-sighted or literally cross-eyed (In Which Case I Apologise), you all contributed to who I am today. Never lost my sense of humour and never gave in to pressure. I salute you!!

2 thoughts on “Growing Up With OCS- My Story

  1. I never doubted what a special child you were, even when you did!

    Glad to see you’re consistent in adulthood 🙂

    • LOL well to be fair, I had you around for guidance. Thank god I didn’t seek cooking lessons from you though. A greek that couldn’t cook 😉 Thank you. You’ll always be a big part of my life Dan

Leave a Reply

