Kruger National Park Photo Journal: Two Friends, Multiple Life & Death Situations And A Rat.


Howzit Flashers!!

It’s been a while since we caught up proper, hasn’t it? Things this side have been proper busy and a bit mundane in the same breathe if that could be thought possible. But good news, I was asked to drive with my matey up to the Kruger. Although I’m sure she only asked me to go was cos she didn’t want to drive alone, I was pretty chuffed to just be getting out of the city for a few days (For the record. I’m proper grateful to the Saber’s for inviting me. I know it was not only so Widdle Sabz wouldn’t be driving alone for 4 hours.) Last weekend was massively eventful to say the least.

The drive up was not tedious at all. In fact it was pretty chilled and relaxing and I have the right to comment on that due to the fact that I drove. Before we carry on let me introduce to you the one, I call, Sabz… First Name: Nikita. Code Name: N/A

7

–SABZ–

My Travelling Companion. Side-Kick. Co-Pilot. Jukebox. Chatterbox. Advisor. Brat. Pool Hall Junkie. Shooter Queen. Acapella Aficionado. And All Round Top Class Diva!

(Sabz, if you are reading this- you should already know by now how valuable you are and this is all just a load of crock. We’ll chat about this later, yea?).

Moving on…

Perspective- We all need that once in a little while. So here’s a Map of the journey to help you place us. We departed from Bryanston/ Fourways on Friday the 3rd of May at approximately Eleven Hundred Hours.

56

We had been driving on the same road the whole way down for about 4 hours only to have passed over a bridge. Under the bridge was the magical and very disappointing gateway to the very uneventful town of, Nelspruit. We pull in to town and with Sabz on the phone to her mum confirming directions, a car on the opposite side of the road merged into my lane. Slight Panic but nothing major… Until a split second later I hit the side of the curb and then subsequently burst my tyre… Fun times indeed. Once back on the road (Because as it so turns out, the road I was on was the correct one) we spent the next hour in traffic…

The Friday night was spent catching up around a braai with massive lamb chops, salad and some other things too. Straight off to bed in preparation for the early morning start in the park.

Fast asleep in dreamland I hear this scuffling in a plastic bag next to Sabz bed and I lie awake for a few seconds thinking she’s hungry and getting some Pringles out the box (Which is weird for her). Getting a bit irritated- I won’t even deny that part due to the fact that it’s 1:30a.m- I wait for her stop… So here’s a little dialogue of how it went.

-Two Youngin’s Sleeping in their warm cots hear a non-biodegradable plastic receptacle move-

-Sabz-

“Kirst… You awake?”

-Me-

“Ja…”

-Sabz-

“Did you hear that?”

-Slight panic now because Kirsty has just come to the realization that this was NOT Sabz!

-Me-

“Ja… (Pause) But I thought that was you?!”

-In a ginormous leap, Sabz has jump the gap from her cot to Kirsty’s and made her way under the covers in nothing but her underwear. Situated in the Kruger Park where the wilderness has literally free range roaming just outside your door, their minds start going wild (Pun intended) with imagination as to what THIS midnight visitor could be.-

-Sabz-

“Kirst… Go check!”

-Sabz feeling massively brave enough to send Kirsty into the danger zone, Kirsty hops over to Sabz bed with a clothing hanger to examine the bag and any hidden creatures under her bed.-

Eventually things got a little more conspicuous because we had no idea what to expect. We figured out that whatever it was, was no longer in the room. A few seconds later we heard movement in the kitchen and a few things being bumped over so Sabz started this kind of Whisper-Shout thing. Where its quiet enough to not scare this creature of the night away but loud enough to heard by her mum. “Maaah! (That’s how the Jews say Ma)”, Sabz says. Getting the attention of her mum, Aunty Sue makes her way to the kitchen with no skaam and patrols the house. The tiniest little lady with the biggest “No Fear Strategy”. She’s amazing! You should really meet her.

Any way… On to the exciting stuff.

Saturday morning. 5:30a.m wake up call.

The gate opens at 6a.m and closes at 6p.m- I assume these are Winter Times. So FINALLY… Lets get to the pictures!! 🙂

47

This is the Crocodile Bridge Gate. If you look ahead that was the entrance. So the view you’re looking at is from when we’ve already crossed over to head off to the Main Park Gate.

1

2

46

Sunrise was spectacular! Illuminating the sky in the most amazing warm palette.

13

15

14

32

10

11

12

9

3So up until this point we had been in the park f0r 6 hours straight. We head back to the Lodge  for some lunch and a few glasses of wine (Hoping it’ll improve our search tactics).

18

This little fella joined us for lunch. I call him Steve. Feel free to call him Steve too.

-3p.m We head out for Game Drive Two-

8

20

26

16

50

54

33

Africa still has the most incredible sunsets… The more dust the more phenomenal the sunset.

So after our 1st Game Drive I was sat at the back of the bakkie, getting shotgun on all the dust and sand. I felt proper disgusting and had to shower before lunch. But I did not expect this to happen on the second trip out… As Sabz said, “You look like nobody’s child”.

28

-Sunday Morning. 8a.m-

55

As we had left the Ngwenya Gate on our way to Crocodile Bridge, Uncle Jeff’s tyre had burst. How odd that it had happened to me on the way there on Friday and that I had dreamt of it happening again to my spare tyre. Only this time it was not mine…

31

Waiting for tyre to be changed, I made Sabz the lookout for on-coming traffic while I took this little stunner in the middle of the road.

36

40

41

35

29

37

48

19

27

-And finally we head home at 12p.m Sunday-

30

-THE END-

Leave a Reply

