5000 Years of Stoney Henges in 5 Minutes


It’s not as rude as it sounds. I’m not making a mockery of it either. In fact, I’ve been looking forward to going to Stonehenge ever since I was a kid. I feel like it was a massive let down though when we first arrived. We were drenched in rain, I was massively ill and my parents were driving me insane.

We waited in the exhibition for about a good half hour, and to be fair I couldn’t really be arsed until I saw this lady, probably mid-50s, who was sitting in the corner of the exhibition with antlers on, a flowing dress that really brought out the crazy in her eyes and she was mumbling on about the forest. I had to take a second to convince myself that it was actually real.

IMG_1646

The little history lesson was amusing as times. They still have no definitive answer as to what Stonehenge is even there for and some hilarious theories have come about. If you have any of your own, please leave them in the comments – I’ll totally read them!

The one thing I really did find to be really comforting, was that a lady that had stood next to me whilst I read the theory wall had sat on a bench beside me afterward. She just sat and took in the heritage. I wish I had the patience to be honest. Not long after, the bus left to the Stonehenge site… I didn’t realise it was so popular with the Asian tourists either.

IMG_1672

Only once you’re standing next to this structure do you realise it’s importance. Whether it makes sense or not, you find it in yourself to appreciate it. I may not flaunt about and jump up in enthusiasm but I appreciate it through my photographs. That’s good enough for me.

Here are a few facts about Stonehenge that you may not know or ever want to know, but you should read them anyway:

• Built in several stages, Stonehenge began about 5,000 years ago as a simple earthwork enclosure where prehistoric people buried their cremated dead. The stone circle was erected in the centre of the monument in the late Neolithic period, around 2500 BC

• Two types of stone are used at Stonehenge: the larger sarsens, and the smaller bluestones. There are 83 stones in total

• There were originally only two entrances to the enclosure, English Heritage explains – a wide one to the north east, and a smaller one on the southern side. Today there are many more gaps – this is mainly the result of later tracks that once crossed the monument

• A circle of 56 pits, known as the Aubrey Holes (named after John Aubrey, who identified them in 1666), sits inside the enclosure. Its purpose remains unknown, but some believe the pits once held stones or posts

For more, visit HistoryExtra.

IMG_1673

IMG_1839

Also, I would never have left before doing something ridiculous. Like taking a selfie. You’re welcome!

IMG_1833

To wrap it up, not only because it’s cold but I’m off to London and need my beauty sleep, you should make a trip to Salisbury and visit the Henge. Something to say you’ve done. It has rich history and the it’s definitely to be admired.

2 thoughts on “5000 Years of Stoney Henges in 5 Minutes

Leave a Reply

