This Brave Little Human


It’s been a while since I’ve blogged, and although I always seem to say that in an effort to justify my laziness, the truth is that I rarely feel that I have something to say – I may have something to say but the honest truth is that I’m not entirely convinced anyone will read it.

I recently took a trip to Cape Town, it was a completely impulsive holiday with money I didn’t have. I had also moved into my new apartment just 3 days before flying out, and one of my closest humans was out from England – coincidently in Cape Town the very same weekend I was going to be. They say moving house is one of the most stressful things to go through, your emotional state is similar to that of someone dealing with a death. I needed this breakaway, the whole process was all kinds of traumatic, especially for someone like me.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Let me back it up a little. Last year, after seeing a number of good people leave the agency, I was hesitant to meet new people or even accept the loss of the ones already gone but at some point my mind kicked into a state of consciousness and I forced myself to acknowledge the change. Isn’t it ironic that when you open your world up to the possibility of new beginnings, the universe answers? Maybe not in the most expected way but it always replies.
If I think back to July 2015, on one particular day, a new human came into my life. It was so significant that I hadn’t even realised it just yet. Haji had joined the agency as the new Account Director, and at that time I was sceptical.

“Have you ever met a person who at first glance you’re not attracted to, but then with every word, every smile, every laugh, they become more beautiful until you can’t believe there was a moment you didn’t think they were.” – Atticus

She’d stepped in to a role of someone who I admired and respected deeply, which made it tough to accept the change. I hadn’t really spoken to Haji much in the first month, there wasn’t a need for it. Until this one day… You could call this our “ice-breaker” moment… Haji and I had been talking about something, which made both of us feel extremely awkward at the time, to such an extent that Haji landed up under her desk, paralysed in laughter but mostly embarrassment. From that day on, I knew we were going to be good friends.

A few months had passed and nothing much had happened, the maximum level of effort in our friendship was me buying her coffee once a week of which she never finished. Not long after that, daily smoke breaks turned into daily Whatsapp chats, which turned into Friday night drinks every other weekend and classy Sunday night Chinese take-out rituals with wine out of jars. The basis of how friendships are built, right?

Although the events all seem at random, I can assure you they’re all part of a beautiful human truth. The more time you spend with someone, the more your heart decides their placement or role in your life. I’m grateful for this because if I hadn’t changed the way I saw people, I don’t think I’d have been able to let Haji be the friend she was undeniably meant to be in my life.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

This is me introducing you to This Brave Little Human, Haji. I can’t quantify, measure or justify the importance of her in my life just yet but I know she’s important, and I know we were meant to meet this way and be this way. I’ll leave you with this:

“Once in a while you’ll meet someone who makes it so easy to be yourself that you’ll wonder why you ever pretended to be anything else.” – Curiano

 

Leave a Reply

