Baby Shiloh’s Newborn Shoot


19

Last year we did Nicole and Wesley’s maternity shoot just a month before Shiloh was to due to arrive. In this newborn shoot, we see Shiloh just a month after. She’s a beautiful baby girl and she has the most amazing skin tone. It was a pleasure to work with her and an honour to have had her as my first newborn. Here are a few of the shots we managed to get between sleep, bottle and tears šŸ˜‰

22

If there would be any tips I’d list these and think about them before doing your shoot:

PREP! PREP! PREP!Ā 

-Even though I went overly prepared with props and ideas, babies are fickle and you’ll never really know what you’ve got until the day arrives unless you’re lucky enough to get a consultation with the baby and family prior to the day.

PROPS!

-I had no problem coming up with ideas for my shoot, but putting the baby and prop together was a whole new mission. I found that using things the baby already had such as; a blankie or soft toy, made things much easier.

TIME MANAGEMENT!

-In order to ensure that your shoot runs on time, make yourself a schedule. For each setting you need to incorporate how long you need to change backdrops and props and don’t forget the baby!! Plan your shoot step by step. For example:

  1. Shiloh in Basket:-Basket
    -Straw
    -BlanketTime Needed: 15 MinutesĀ 

So for each setup plan your set and set time accordingly. Keep in mind that babies are unpredictable. I found that things started to speed up once Shiloh knew that Nicole was around. Many newborn shoots are done nude so to make sure the baby doesn’t cry and their skin doesn’t get red and blotchy, keep a heater and blanket on hand. Remove the blanket before the shoot and cover the baby when you’re done and changing sets again.

I wish somebody had told me this before I did my shoot. Anyway, we live and learn. The next shoot will be greater!!

18 20

2 thoughts on “Baby Shiloh’s Newborn Shoot

  1. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative
    and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which not enough people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I came across this
    in my search for something regarding this.

Leave a comment